The Vineyards of Axarquía

I’d like to introduce you to my vineyards. Since this is where it all begins there will be more posts telling you about what goes on during the different seasons. The bodega and its vineyards are in the western part of the Axarquía to the north-east of Málaga, and about an hour’s drive from Marbella, where old-vine Muscat of Alexandria grapes are grown on the north-facing mountainous slopes of Almáchar (an Arabic name meaning meadows).

The landscape has a rugged beauty, the fields and vineyards climbing the rocky slopes above the little river, with spectacular views from the tops of the ridges. The slopes where the vineyards are situated are too steep for tractors, and at harvest time, in the late summer, mules must be used to transport the grapes to the bodega. The climate is dry and sunny, but mellowed by the influence of the Mediterranean Sea. Because of the poor, rocky soil and sparse rainfall the vines are cultivated using the vaso system of pruning and the traditional dry-farming techniques of the Málaga region.

The Muscat of Alexandria is a large aromatic grape that originated in North Africa, but which has been cultivated in this part of Spain for many hundreds of years. It produces wines that have a high sugar content, with aromas of honey, orange blossoms and fresh grapes. Many of the local grapes are dried to make raisins (there is even a raisin museum in Almáchar), but we dry the grapes for wine in a special drying house. After pressing, the grapes are fermented in stainless steel and then oak.

I love spending time at the vineyard, and there is nothing quite like tasting wines in the place where they were born.

9 Responses

  1. […] Our vineyards lie just outside the village of Almáchar in the Axarquía. […]

  2. […] talked here before about the poor rocky soil here in the Axarquía, which is mostly slate intermingled with limestone […]

  3. Thank you, I have just been looking for info
    about this

    subject for ages and yours is the best I’ve discovered so far. But, what about the

    bottom line? Are you sure about the source?

  4. I do agree with all of the ideas you’ve presented in your post. They’re very

    convincing and will certainly work. Still, the posts are very
    short for novices. Could you please extend them a little from next time?
    Thanks for the post.

  5. Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wished to say
    that I have

    truly enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. In
    any case I’ll be subscribing to your

    rss feed and I hope you write again soon!

  6. Simply wish to say your article is as amazing. The

    clearness in your submit is simply cool and that i can suppose you’re an expert in this subject. Well together with your permission

    allow me to grasp your RSS feed to keep updated

    with imminent post. Thank you 1,000,000 and please continue the gratifying work.

  7. Hey! I know this is kind of off topic

    but I was wondering which blog platform are you using for this site?
    I’m getting tired of

    WordPress because I’ve had issues with hackers and I’m looking at alternatives for another platform. I

    would be awesome if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

  8. I have to express my passion for your kind-heartedness giving support

    to those people that must have guidance on this one issue.
    Your personal commitment to getting the solution around
    came to be surprisingly

    practical and have in most cases made professionals much like me
    to arrive at their dreams.

    This insightful hints and tips means

    much a person like me and somewhat more to my
    fellow

    workers. Regards; from all of us.

  9. Great site! I am loving it!! Will be back later to read some

    more. I am bookmarking your feeds also.

Leave a comment