Wine Pairing Surprise

Fiona Beckett, Guardian wine columnist, multiple blogger, natural wine lover and avid Twitter user (she wears two hats there as @food_writer and @winematcher) recently wrote a post on her Matching Food and Wine blog about her surprise match of the holiday season: Jorge Ordoñez Selección Especial with simple fresh clementines. I have to say I was also surprised as it has never occurred to me to try pairing a citrus fruit with Selección Especial and so today I went out and bought some clementines.

The result was as delicious as Fiona said it would be. I have often paired Selección Especial with Málaga grapes or raisins, dried fruit and nuts, foie and also cheese with pears, but I am very pleased that Fiona dared to try the oranges. I’d have never thought of it! I wonder what she will end up pairing with Botani.

Leave a Reply

